top of page
Writer's pictureShubhi Goel

Splash of Colours

Waking up to the irritating alarm, going to work/school, doing the daily chores is something that we have to do every single day. To take a break, we may rely on television/OTT platforms. But have you ever felt, this hasn’t really helped you to relax as much as you’ve ever wanted to? Because these entertainment mediums have also become a part of the regular schedule


So, people do different things – drive to Lonavala, go to the beach, dine out, spend some time on the Queen’s Necklace.


For me, I’ve done all of this! I was looking for something very refreshing and never done before activities.


So, I surfed the internet to find out some nice events that were happening in the town. Apart from the tours & camps that were there, 3 things caught my attention and instantly made their way to my to-do list. They were Knife Painting Workshop, Midnight Cycling & Heritage + Food Walk. However, the sight of floating lamps couldn't get off my mind. So, I decided to take along a close friend and try it out.


Came the day of the workshop. We reached the venue a little early. I was nervous but also the Picasso in me was waiting to pop out!



The organizers were busy prepping up! However, it wasn’t just a painting workshop that was going on! I could see a lot of activities happening simultaneously. Some ladies were learning belly dancing, while some were fighting for the title of Cooking Champion, some were doing Zumba and in another parallel universe inside the lounge was a beauty, makeup and nail art class happening & additionally other people who had come to hang out. It was definitely a Ladies Gala Time happening at Pot Pourri. I could’ve never thought that such a small mall in Chembur could have such an unusual place.

After waiting for some time, the workshop started. We were given an apron, 2 palette knives, a small towel, some brushes and acrylic paints. We started off by making a few basic demarcations on the canvas. After doing that we used the knives, starting off with the light colours and then moved towards the darker ones. After that, we made lamps and pedestrians. I found shading and mixing the colours a bit difficult, but somehow, I managed.



After I and my friend completed our work, we saw the work of our fellow participants. The paintings were so distinct and yet the same. Every person had made their own versions of the original work by Leonid Afremov. The distinctness in our thoughts, visualizations and experiences is something that was reflecting in each.

I was happy with what I did. What made me happier were the smiling faces of my fellow participants.



I also learned a few things which I would keep in mind. Whenever one goes to a workshop, one must remember that it is not possible to replicate what the guide is doing. We can aim for perfection but it’s okay not to be perfect. Patience is very important in such tasks. With time and effort comes out the fruit of labour. Today, when I look at this little piece of my heart, I feel content and satisfied with the efforts I had put in.


And, if you ever have a doubt on yourself – Would I be able to do this? I even don’t know how to hold a brush. Remember the following quote -


All you need to paint is a few tools, a little instruction, and a vision in your mind.


Wanna break the monotony & paint the world? Find out here!

291 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page